Periodontics and Oral Medicine includes the disciplines of periodontics, oral medicine, oral diagnosis, oral radiology, oral pathology, dental hygiene, behavioral sciences and community dentistry. A major objective of the department is to approach the patient and his or her disease with a full complement of diagnostic resources. By using these resource, along with the diverse expertise and knowledge of faculty and staff, the department can deliver enhanced awareness of the patient 's health and dental problems. In turn, the department provides support and care in the clinical setting.

PERIODONTICS

Periodontics is concerned with establishing and maintaining health for the structures that support the teeth. The educational program is designed to help students develop the ability to instruct patients in preventing periodontal diseases, diagnosing and treating gingivitis and moderate periodontitis, recognizing the interrelationships between periodontal diseases and systemic health, and recognizing and referring patients who require periodontal specialty care.

ORAL MEDICINE AND RADIOLOGY

Oral Medicine and Diagnosis is the study of record taking, diagnosis and treatment planning using didactic and clinical experiences throughout the dental curriculum. Students will achieve proficiency in reporting and evaluating medical and dental histories; performing thorough head, neck and oral examinations; selecting, exposing and interpreting intraoral and extraoral radiographs; synthesizing the collected data into a problem list and differential diagnosis; and developing a logical treatment plan based on the patient's needs. Seminars, case presentations, clinical class conferences, and clinical experience complement the courses.

ORAL PATHOLOGY

Oral Pathology is the study of the disease of the soft and calcified structures of the oral region. The various disease processes are studied with respect to causation, natural history, clinical behavior, relationship of a disease in one part to other parts and to the entire body. Oral pathology bridges two aspects of the health sciences: basic science and clinical practice. Knowledge is applied to clinical situations and various histological, immunological, molecular, serologic, and other parameters are used to determine diagnoses.

ORAL & MAXILLOFACIAL PATHOLOGY BIOPSY SERVICE


Academic Programs

PERIODONTICS GRADUATE PROGRAM (MS)

A three year program designed to diagnose oral diseases, periodontics and dental implant treatment planning, comprehensive therapy, and to develop future leaders in the specialty of Periodontics.

PERIODONTICS GRADUATE PROGRAM (Non-degree)

A six or twelve month in-depth experience in the realm of periodontology and periodontics, involving clinical, didactic, and research training.

INTERNATIONAL TEAM FOR IMPLANTOLOGY (ITI)

A one year progam at the Clinical Research Core, ITI Scholars work closely with Graduate Students and Fellows in prosthodontics, pediatric dentistry, orthodontics and oral and maxillofacial surgery at the School of Dentistry, providing a unique interdisciplinary experience.

PERIODONTICS CLINIC

Periodontology or periodontics is the specialty of dentistry that studies supporting structures of teeth, as well as diseases and conditions that affect them.

castilho lab thumbnail

Castilho Lab (Laboratory of Epithelial Biology)

The Castilho Lab focuses on the genetic and epigenetic mechanisms involved in the control of epithelial cells and stem cells during homeostasis, healing and disease.

d'silva lab thumbnail

D'Silva Lab

The D'Silva Lab's translational research focus is head and neck cancer, including biomarkers for early detection and treatment resistance, and molecular mechanisms of tumor progression and treatment resistance.

franceschi lab thumbnail

Franceschi Lab

Dr. Franceschi’s laboratory studies the signals regulating the formation and functioning of osteoblasts, cells that produce and mineralize the extracellular matrix of bone.

giannobile lab thumbnail

Giannobile Lab

The Giannobile Laboratory's research focuses on regenerative medicine strategies to reconstruct oral and periodontal structures using biologics and drug targeting approaches. Our group is also involved in the use of saliva diagnostics to identify biomarkers of the disease process for periodontal and peri-implant infections.

kaigler lab thumbnail

Kaigler Lab

The Kaigler laboratory is focused on developing novel and innovated approactes for tissue engeneering of bone, gingiva, salivary gland tissue, and tooth-related structures (enamel, dentin, dental pulp). Fundamental studies conducted on the molecular level are as aimed at providing rationale and guidenace to human studies exploring clinical application.

lei lab thumbnail

Lei Lab

The Lei laboratory focuses on the regulatory mechanisms of cancer-associated immune suppression and novel vaccine technologies to enhance host anti-tumor immunity.

mccauley lab thumbnail

McCauley-Roca Lab

The McCauley/Roca Lab researches hormonal controls of bone remodeling, anabolic actions of parathyroid hormone (PTH), parathyroid hormone-related protein (PTHrP), and the impact and therapeutic potential of PTH in craniofacial osseous wound healing.

squarize lab thumbnail

Squarize Lab

The Squarize Lab investigates the function of the key signaling pathways and stem cells in epithelial regeneration and disease.

taichman lab thumbnail

Taichman Lab

The Taichman laboratory works at the intersection of how hematopoietic stem cells (HSCs), mesenchymal stem cells (MSCs) and disseminated tumor cells (DTCs) home, localize and engage the bone marrow microenvironment or niche for survival, function and protection from injury.

weivoda lab thumbnail

Weivoda Lab

The Weivoda Lab focuses on the role of osteoclasts in the bone remodeling cycle.

PERIODONTICS & ORAL MEDICINE DIRECTORY

List of Dentistry People in this Department
Name Sort descending Contact Title
Aboalsaud, Khulood Majed
(kaboalsa)

kaboalsa@umich.edu
Baker, Alicia
(bakeri)
734-764-9148
bakeri@umich.edu
Allied Health Intermediate Supr
Banerjee, Rajat
(banerjra)
734-647-3907
banerjra@umich.edu
Research Investigator
Barootchi, Shayan
(shbaroot)

shbaroot@umich.edu
Benavides, Erika
(benavid)
734-936-0051
benavid@umich.edu
Clinical Professor of Dentistry
Borgnakke, Wenche Sylling
(wsb)
734-478-1233
wsb@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Boutros, Suheil
(sboutros)
734-763-3325
sboutros@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Brennan, Donna
(dobr)
734-763-3325
dobr@umich.edu
Dental Assistant Intermediate
Britt, Michael Robert
(brittmi)
734-615-3569
brittmi@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Associate Professor of Dentistry
Brooks, Sharon
(slbrooks)
734-763-1853
slbrooks@umich.edu
Professor Emerita of Dentistry, Department of Oral Diagnosis, and Professor Emerita in Service Periodontics and Oral Med, School of Dentistry and Associate Professor Emerita of Oral and Maxillofacial Radiology, Department of Radiology
Burgett, Frederick
(burgett)

burgett@umich.edu
Professor Emeritus of Dentistry, Department of Periodontics
Cao, Chen
(cheery)
734-615-3502
cheery@umich.edu
Research Fellow, Periodontics and Oral Medicine
Carver, Megan
(mecarver)
734-763-2105
mecarver@umich.edu
Administrative Assistant Senior
Castilho, Rogerio
(rcastilh)
734-647-2150
rcastilh@umich.edu
Associate Professor of Dentistry
Chan, Hsun-Liang
(hlchan)
734-763-2105
hlchan@umich.edu
Clinical Associate Professor of Dentistry
Chandy, Vinitha
(nithya)
734-764-1562
nithya@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Lecturer in Dentistry
Charchut, Heather
(hchar)
734-763-6933
hchar@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Chen, Zhaozhao
(zzchen)

zzchen@umich.edu
Chiego, Daniel Joseph
(djchiego)
734-763-4258
djchiego@umich.edu
Associate Professor of Dentistry, Department of Cariology, Restorative Sciences, and Endodontics
Crum, Patricia
(pcrum)
734-763-2105
pcrum@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Associate Professor of Dentistry
Dahlin, Christer Johan Sturesson
(jcdahlin)
734-763-2105
jcdahlin@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Professor of Dentistry
Danciu, Theodora Elena
(tdanciu)
734-763-1245
tdanciu@umich.edu
Clinical Associate Professor of Dentistry
De Andrade, Nathalia Paiva
(npaivade)

npaivade@umich.edu
DDS, Msc, PhD
De Medeiros, Marcell Costa
(cmarcell)
734-647-3907
cmarcell@umich.edu
Research Fellow
De Siqueira, Rafael Amorim Cavalcanti
(rafasiq)

rafasiq@umich.edu
De Souza, Lorena Vilanova Freitas
(freitas)

freitas@umich.edu
Denniston, Anjoli
(anjoli)
734-763-3325
anjoli@umich.edu
Patient Services Assistant
Di Gianfilippo, Riccardo
(rdgianfi)

rdgianfi@umich.edu
Doan, Jill Ellen
(jiller)
734-763-3383
jiller@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Galli, Matthew Simon-Peter
(mattspg)

mattspg@umich.edu
Ge, Chunxi
(chunxige)
734-763-5487
chunxige@umich.edu
Associate Research Scientist
Giacalone, Sicily
(sgiaca)
734-764-1562 Room 3397
sgiaca@umich.edu
Administrative Assistant Intermediate
Giannobile, William
(wgiannob)
734-763-2105
wgiannob@umich.edu
William K and Mary Anne Najjar Professor of Dentistry, Professor of Dentistry and Chair, Department of Periodontics and Oral Medicine, School of Dentistry
Guo, Michelle Mengtao
(guomich)
734-763-2105
guomich@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Hill, Roger
(hillrw)
734-763-3325
hillrw@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry, Department of Periodotnics and Oral Medicine
Inglehart, Marita Rohr
(mri)
734-9960221
mri@umich.edu
Professor of Dentistry, School of Dentistry and Adjunct Professor of Psychology, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
Jackson, Lori Lynn
(lljackso)
734-763-3325
lljackso@umich.edu
Patient Services Associate
Johnson, Lynn
(lynjohns)
734-763-3311
lynjohns@umich.edu
Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs and Institutional Effectiveness, Professor of Dentistry, Department of Periodontics and Oral Medicine, School of Dentistry and Clinical Professor of Information, School of Information
Johnston, Jeffery
(tropical)
734-763-3325
tropical@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Jung, Younghun
(jungyh)
734-936-8747
jungyh@umich.edu
Assistant Research Scientist
Kaigler, Darnell
(dkaigler)
734-615-4023
dkaigler@umich.edu
Associate Professor of Dentistry
Kavanagh, Nolan Matthew
(nolankav)

nolankav@umich.edu
Graduate Student Instructor
Kennebrew, Shelia
(syk)
734-764-1562
syk@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
King, Sumayyah Tatianna
(sumayyah)

sumayyah@umich.edu
Kinney, Janet Sue
(kinneyj)
734-763-3392
kinneyj@umich.edu
Director, Academic Programs, Dental Hygiene, Associate Professor of Dentistry, Department of Periodontics and Oral Medicine, School of Dentistry
Koh, Amy
(ajkoh)
734-763-5478
ajkoh@umich.edu
Research Lab Specialist Lead
Kornman, Kenneth
(kkornman)
734-763-3325
kkornman@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Professor of Dentistry
Kostenuik, Paul
(paulkost)
734-763-2105
paulkost@umich.edu
Adjunct Professor of Dentistry
Laing, Suzette
(slaing)

slaing@umich.edu
Lantz, Marilyn
(mslantz)
734-355-1534
mslantz@umich.edu
Professor Emerita of Dentistry, Department of Periodontics and Oral Medicine and Associate Dean Emerita for Academic Affairs
Lei, Yu Leo
(leiyuleo)
734-936-2565
leiyuleo@umich.edu
Assistant Professor of Dentistry, School of Dentistry and Adjunct Assistant Professor of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery
Leib, Alden
(aleib)

aleib@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Lecturer in Dentistry
Li, Junying
(junying)
734-277-5699
junying@umich.edu
Li, Chia-Cheng
(lichia)
734-763-1853
lichia@umich.edu
Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Li, Yan
(yanlili)
734-763-5487
yanlili@umich.edu
Research Investigator, Periodontics and Oral Medicine
Lin, Xin
(nilnix)
734-764-0003
nilnix@umich.edu
Research Fellow
Liu, Min
(liumin)
734-763-7215
liumin@umich.edu
Research Laboratory Specialist Intermediate
Mandelaris, George Alexander
(gamandel)
734-763-2105
gamandel@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Mason, William
(wemason)
734-763-3325
wemason@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
McCauley, Laurie Kay
(mccauley)
734-763-3311
mccauley@umich.edu
Dean, William K and Mary Anne Najjar Professor of Periodontics, Professor of Dentistry, Department of Periodontics and Oral Medicine, School of Dentistry and Professor of Pathology, Medical School
McGuire, Michael Kent
(mkmperio)
734-763-2105
mkmperio@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Meraw, Stephen
(smeraw)
734-763-3392
smeraw@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Miller, Cynthia Ann
(sassyt)
734-647-4148
sassyt@umich.edu
Dental Assistant Senior
Misch, Craig Martin
(cmisch)
734-763-2105
cmisch@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Associate Professor of Dentistry
Nevins, Myron
(nevinsp)
734-763-2105
nevinsp@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Nevins, Marc
(mnevins)
734-763-2105
mnevins@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
NG, Veronica Wai-Kwan
(vwkng)
734-764-1562
vwkng@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Nieto, Valerie Kay
(vkbarnes)
734-763-3392
vkbarnes@umich.edu
Clinical Lecturer in Dentistry
Oh, Tae-Ju
(taejuoh)
734-647-3320
taejuoh@umich.edu
Clinical Professor of Dentistry
OU, Alice
(aliceou)
734-763-3346
aliceou@umich.edu
Dental Hygienist/Research Coordinator
Padbury, Allan Dale
(padbury)

padbury@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Palesh, Bethany Ann
(paleshba)
734-763-3392
paleshba@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Lecturer in Dentistry
Perez, Luis
(perezl)
734-763-6933
perezl@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Plonka, Alexandra Blake
(aplonka)
734-763-2105
aplonka@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Lecturer in Dentistry
Pritzel, Susan
(pritzel)

pritzel@umich.edu
Assistant Professor Emerita of Dental Hygiene, Department of Periodontics/Prevention and Geriatrics and Assistant Professor Emerita in Service in Periodontics and Oral Medicine
Rasperini, Giulio
(giulior)
734-763-2105
giulior@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Associate Professor of Dentistry
Ravida, Andrea
(ravida)

ravida@umich.edu
Reinoso, Leidy Veronica Mendoza
(verom)
734-763-5478
verom@umich.edu
Research Fellow
Ribeiro, Juliana
(jsilvari)

jsilvari@umich.edu
Richards, Phil
(philrich)
734-763-3359
philrich@umich.edu
Clinical Professor of Dentistry
Roca, Hernan
(rocach)
734-763-5478
rocach@umich.edu
Assistant Research Scientist
Roccuzzo, Mario
(roccuzzo)
734-763-2105
roccuzzo@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Rodrigues, Vinicius Souza
(rviniciu)
734-763-2105
rviniciu@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Rodriguez-Serrano, JoAnne
(joannero)
734-763-3325
joannero@umich.edu
Patient Services Associate
Royzenblat, Sonya
(sonyakr)
734-647-1130
sonyakr@umich.edu
Research Lab Tech Intermediate
Russell, Keely
(keeruss)
734-764-2700
keeruss@umich.edu
Dental Assistant Senior
Sarment, David
(sarment)
734-763-2105
sarment@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assocoate Professor of Dentistry
Sayed, Abdullah
(sayeda)
734-763-6933
sayeda@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Schmitd, Ligia Buloto
(ligiabs)
734-764-1543
ligiabs@umich.edu
Oral Health Sciences PhD Student
Singh, Priyanka
(priyanks)
734-763-3328
priyanks@umich.edu
Research Fellow
Sinjab, Khaled
(khaledsi)
248-949-4349
khaledsi@umich.edu
Periodontics Resident
Sirinirund, Benyapha
(benyapha)

benyapha@umich.edu
Sivertson, John Frederick
(jfsivert)
734-764-9415
jfsivert@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Slayton, Veronica
(vslayton)
734-763-3325
vslayton@umich.edu
Dental Assistant Senior
Soki, Fabiana Naomi
(fabisoki)
734-763-1853
fabisoki@umich.edu
Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Sommer, Celia Maren Caroline
(cmsommer)

cmsommer@umich.edu
Spagnuolo, Anthony
(anthonys)
734-763-3325
anthonys@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Squarize, Cristiane
(csquariz)
734-615-3406
csquariz@umich.edu
Associate Professor of Dentistry
Steigmann, Larissa Rachel
(lasteigm)

lasteigm@umich.edu
Steigmann, Marius
(msteigma)
734-763-2105
msteigma@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Associate Professor of Dentistry, Department of Periodontics
Storey, Amy
(astorey)
734-763-6809
astorey@umich.edu
Business Administrator Inter
Tavelli, Lorenzo
(tavelli)

tavelli@umich.edu
Testori, Tiziano
(ttestori)
734-763-2105
ttestori@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Tindle, David
(ditindle)
734-615-8601
ditindle@umich.edu
Clinical Associate Professor of Dentistry
Travan, Suncica
(stravan)
734-763-2105
stravan@umich.edu
Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Urban, Istvan Andras
(iurban)
734-763-2105
iurban@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Associate Professor of Dentistry
Van Sugai, James
(jsugai)
734-763-7103
jsugai@umich.edu
Research Laboratory Specialist Senior
Vattikunta, Lahari
(lahariv)

lahariv@umich.edu
BDS, PhD
Veettil, Dilna Damodaran Puthiya
(dputhiya)
734-647-3907
dputhiya@umich.edu
Research Lab Tech Intermediate
Velasquez, Diego
(dvelasq)
734-763-3325
dvelasq@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Wang, Chin-Wei
(jeffwa)
734-763-2105
jeffwa@umich.edu
Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Wang, I-Ching
(iching)

iching@umich.edu
Wang, Yu
(ywh)
734-936-8747
ywh@umich.edu
Research Lab Specialist Assoc
Wang, Hom-Lay
(homlay)
734-763-3383
homlay@umich.edu
Collegiate Professor of Periodontics and Professor of Dentistry
Weivoda, Megan
(mweivoda)
734-764-1562
mweivoda@umich.edu
Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Yi, Esther
(estheryi)

estheryi@umich.edu
Yu, Shan-Huey
(shanhyu)
734-764-9148
shanhyu@umich.edu
Research Fellow
Yumoto, Kenji
(kenjiyum)
734-936-8747
kenjiyum@umich.edu
Research Investigator
Zhang, Shuang
(zshuang)
734-764-5489
zshuang@umich.edu
Research Fellow, Pharmacology
Zucchelli, Giovanni
(gzucchel)
734-764-9148
gzucchel@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Professor of Dentistry

Not finding the person you want to find? Go to the Directory.


DEPARTMENT CHAIR

William K and Mary Anne Najjar Professor of Dentistry, Professor of Dentistry and Chair, Department of Periodontics and Oral Medicine, School of Dentistry


CONTACT

GENERAL CONTACT

Department of Periodontics & Oral Medicine
University of Michigan School of Dentistry
1011 N University Avenue
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1078

DIVISION OF PERIODONTICS

University of Michigan School of Dentistry
1011 N University Avenue, Room 3060
Ann Arbor MI 48109-1078
Phone: 734-763-2105 or 734-764-1562 | Fax: 734-763-5503

DIVISION OF DENTAL HYGIENE

University of Michigan School of Dentistry
1011 N University Avenue, Room 3066
Ann Arbor MI 48109-1078
Phone: 734-763-3392 | Fax: 734-763-5503

DIVISION OF ORAL PATHOLOGY/MEDICINE/RADIOLOGY

University of Michigan School of Dentistry
1011 N University Avenue, Room G018
Ann Arbor MI 48109-1078
Phone: 734-764-1543 | Fax: 734-764-2469