Dark

Oral and maxillofacial surgeons care for children and adult patients who experience such conditions as head and neck cancer, tumors and cysts of the jaws, cleft and craniofacial deformities, obstructive sleep apnea, misaligned jaws, accident victims suffering facial injuries, facial pain and temporal mandibular joint (TMJ) disorders, reconstructive and dental implant surgery, functional and esthetic conditions of the maxillofacial areas, and dental extractions including wisdom teeth and preparation for dentures.

The oral and maxillofacial team of surgeons and residents serve patients at several locations:

University of Michigan School of Dentistry

1011 North University Ave
1st Floor Information Desk
Ann Arbor, MI 48109

University of Michigan Hospital

Admit Lounge: Red Pillar
Level 1 B216
1500 E. Medical Center Dr
Ann Arbor, MI 48109

C.S. Mott (Children's Hospital)

Pediatric Outpatient Surgery
3rd Floor MCHC
1540 East Hospital Dr
Ann Arbor, MI 48109

Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery/Hospital Dentistry

Med Inn, Room C213
1500 E. Medical Center Dr
Ann Arbor, MI 48109


Academic Programs

GENERAL PRACTICE RESIDENCY

An intensive hospital-based training program that equips residents to work in multidisciplinary teams to deliver the best comprehensive care to patients with complex needs and conditions.

ORAL AND MAXILLOFACIAL SURGERY

A comprehensive education program that complements previous dental training with broad exposure to oral and maxillofacial surgery across a clinical population of diverse and complex cases.

ONCOLOGY / MICROVASCULAR SURGERY FELLOWSHIP

A 1- to 2-year program to train oral and maxillofacial surgeons in the diagnosis, treatment, and long-term management of patients with benign and malignant lesions of the head and neck.

EXTERNSHIPS

We welcome externs interested in careers in oral and maxillofacial surgery and hospital dentistry to join us for a week of observational training at Michigan Medicine.

ORAL SURGERY CLINIC

Oral and maxillofacial surgeons care for children and adult patients who experience such conditions as head and neck cancer, tumors and cysts of the jaws, cleft and craniofacial deformities, obstructive sleep apnea, misaligned jaws, accident victims suffering facial injuries, facial pain and temporal mandibular joint (TMJ) disorders, reconstructive and dental implant surgery, functional and esthetic conditions of the maxillofacial areas, and dental extractions including wisdom teeth and preparation for dentures.

RESEARCH

In the lab, whether we are studying tissues or managing data, we are thinking of the patient whose life will be bettered by the research we conduct. As one of the most successful oral and maxillofacial surgery/ hospital dentistry units in the country in securing external funding, we bring deep resources and diverse skills to bear on solving the most vexing surgical dilemmas.

ORAL AND MAXILLOFACIAL SURGERY / HOSPITAL DENTISTRY DIRECTORY

List of Dentistry People in this Department
Name Sort descending Contact Title
Abrahamian, Sandra
(abrahami)
734-936-5955
abrahami@umich.edu
Patient Services Associate
Ashman, Lawrence
(ashmanl)
734-936-8289
ashmanl@umich.edu
Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Baisch, Cheryl
(cbaisch)
734-763-9716
cbaisch@umich.edu
Admin Manager Intermediate Healthcare
Bedair, Ennis Malik
(anasmo)
734-936-8289
anasmo@umich.edu
Clinical Lecturer in Dentistry
Betts, Norman
(njbetts)
734-764-1542
njbetts@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Associate Professor of Dentistry
Boyd, Sara
(swatt)
734-763-8984
swatt@umich.edu
Patient Services Associate
Burris, Sherri
(shburris)
734-936-5950
shburris@umich.edu
Patient Services Intermediate
Campbell, Carolyn
(cmcamp)
734-232-6048
cmcamp@umich.edu
Admin Asst Sr Healthcare
Carbary, Wendy
(wcarbary)
734-764-1543
wcarbary@umich.edu
Administrative Assistant Intermediate
Cesteleyn, Luc
(lucc)
734-764-1542
lucc@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Chang, Diane
(dchangz)
734-936-8289
dchangz@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Lecturer in Dentistry
Chessor, Dana
(dchessor)
734-936-5952
dchessor@umich.edu
Dental Assistant Intermediate
Chin, Amy Man-Wai
(amychin)
734-764-1542
amychin@umich.edu
Staff Dentist
Coffey, Ronelle
(talagar)
734-998-6320
talagar@umich.edu
New Patient/TMJ Coordinator
Cook, Trina
(trinac)
734-936-6647
trinac@umich.edu
Patient Services Intermediate
Cornwall, Benjamin
(bcwall)
734-936-5955
bcwall@umich.edu
Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Cottrell, Kelly
(kcottrel)
734-764-1542
kcottrel@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Creech, Vanessa
(vcreech)
734-936-5950
vcreech@umich.edu
New Patient/Wisdom Tooth Coordinator
Crist, Jennifer Lynn
(jcrist)
734-936-3940
jcrist@umich.edu
Patient Services Intermediate
Dalton, Kathryn
(katdal)
734-647-8369
katdal@umich.edu
Patient Services Associate
Evans, Joyce
(evansjm)
734-936-7752
evansjm@umich.edu
Call Center Representative
Fear, Dalbert Wayne
(fdalbert)
734-764-1568
fdalbert@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Folk, Siobhan
(sifolk)
734-936-5950
sifolk@umich.edu
Call Center Representative
Goss, Machille
(rgoss)
734-672-1309
rgoss@umich.edu
Dental Assistant Intermediate
Hock, Douglas
(douhock)
734-764-1542
douhock@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Hoffman, Donald
(donaldho)
734-764-1542
donaldho@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Associate Professor of Dentistry
Jensen, Ole
(jensenol)
734-764-1542
jensenol@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Kersey, Valerie
(vkersey)

vkersey@umich.edu
Patient Services Intermediate
King, Jamie
(kjamie)
734-936-7477
kjamie@umich.edu
Dental Assistant Senior
Kleiff, Gilbert
(gkleiff)
734-647-7852
gkleiff@umich.edu
Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Kline, Stephanie
(skbrock)
734-936-8289
skbrock@umich.edu
Prosthetist
Kulas, Dama
(dkulas)
734-615-5488
dkulas@umich.edu
Admin Asst Sr Healthcare
Kuo, Shiuhyang
(skuo)
734-615-9722
skuo@umich.edu
Assistant Research Scientist
Landrum, Raymond
(rlandrum)
734-936-5950
rlandrum@umich.edu
Patient Services Associate
Lay-Luskin, Jennifer Ann
(jalay)
734-763-8657
jalay@umich.edu
Clinical Res Coordinator Hlth
Leffler, Tammy
(tleffler)
734-764-1520
tleffler@umich.edu
Patient Services Associate
Levi, Becky
(levib)
734-647-4196
levib@umich.edu
Dental Assistant Senior
Lewis, Brian Gerald
(lewisbg)
734-936-4761
lewisbg@umich.edu
Patient Services Intermediate
Lopez, Paul
(lopezp)
734-764-5230
lopezp@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Lecturer in Dentistry
Maazza, Paulette
(paumaa)
734-647-4197
paumaa@umich.edu
Dental Assistant Senior
Marti, Kyriaki Christos
(kyriaki)
734-764-1568
kyriaki@umich.edu
Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Mata, Sandra
(smata)
734-763-5963
smata@umich.edu
Admin Asst Inter Healthcare
Merigian, Cecilia
(cmerigia)
734-936-5950
cmerigia@umich.edu
Patient Services Associate
Mills-Stines, LaTonya
(mlatonya)
734-936-7751
mlatonya@umich.edu
Assistant Clinic Coordinator
Munz, Stephanie Marie
(smmunz)
734-936-5955
smmunz@umich.edu
Clinical Associate Professor of Dentistry
Murdoch-Kinch, Carol Anne
(camurdoc)
734-763-5651
camurdoc@umich.edu
Dr. Walter H Swartz Professor of Integrated Special Care Dentistry, Associate Dean, Academic Affairs and Clinical Professor of Dentistry
Murphy, Barbara
(mbarbara)
734-647-4131
mbarbara@umich.edu
Dental Hygienist
Nakano, Takafumi
(takafumn)

takafumn@umich.edu
Nichols, Ashley
(ashnic)
734-647-4131
ashnic@umich.edu
Dental Assistant Intermediate
Nolan, Jemma
(jemma)
734-936-5952
jemma@umich.edu
Dental Hygienist
Patel, Trupti
(trupatel)
734-936-5955
trupatel@umich.edu
Dental Assistant Senior
Persico, Jeffrey
(jepersic)
734-764-1542
jepersic@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Lecturer in Dentistry
Pinto, Nancy
(npint)
734-936-5950
npint@umich.edu
Patient Services Associate
Przybylski, Lisa
(lpski)
734-647-4131
lpski@umich.edu
Allied Health Senior Supr
Pullen, Kyle Thomas
(kpullen)
734-764-1568
kpullen@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Lecturer in Dentistry
Schroka, Tamatha Jean
(tamatha)
734-936-5952
tamatha@umich.edu
Dental Assistant Intermediate
Sdao, Gloria Bensinger
(gbemsing)
734-647-4201
gbemsing@umich.edu
Admin Asst Sr Healthcare
Sims, DeNetra
(denetra)
734-936-5950
denetra@umich.edu
Patient Services Associate
Skouteris, Christos
(cskouter)
734-763-5963
cskouter@umich.edu
Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry, School of Dentistry and Assistant Professor of Oral Surgery
Smythe, Paul Richard
(psmythe)
734-936-4280
psmythe@umich.edu
Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology, Medical School and Adjunct Clinical Lecturer in Dentistry
Stefanac, Stephen
(stefanac)
734-764-1558
stefanac@umich.edu
Senior Associate Dean, Associate Dean for Patient Services and Clinical Professor of Dentistry, Department of Periodontics and Oral Medicine, School of Dentistry
Stewart, Kimberly
(kimmystu)
734-936-5955
kimmystu@umich.edu
New Patient Referral Coordinator
Sugiyama, Debra
(debsugi)
734-763-3115
debsugi@umich.edu
Allied Health Intermediate Sup
Sweigard, Diane
(sweigard)
734-647-4131
sweigard@umich.edu
Dental Assistant Associate
Thomas, Antwon
(antwont)
734-647-4131
antwont@umich.edu
Dental Assistant Intermediate
Thompson, Megan
(megski)
734-647-4131
megski@umich.edu
Dental Assistant Senior
Valente, Carolyn
(valentec)
734-615-5970
valentec@umich.edu
Patient Services Associate
Vartanian, Mark
(markvart)
734-763-6954
markvart@umich.edu
Research Lab Specialist Inter
Wallace, Sommer
(sommernw)
734-763-9716
sommernw@umich.edu
Dental Assistant Senior
Ward, Brent
(bward)

bward@umich.edu
Chalmers J Lyons Professor of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, Associate Professor of Dentistry and Chair, Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery/Hospital Dentistry, School of Dentistry and Associate Professor of Surgery, Medical School
Washington, James
(jbwash)
734-763-4530
jbwash@umich.edu
Laboratory Manager
Woods, Laura Sue
(lswoods)
734-764-1542
lswoods@umich.edu
Admin Asst Sr Healthcare
Yellich, George Michael
(gmyell)
734-764-1542
gmyell@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Associate Professor of Dentistry
Zhang, Wen-Xiang
(wxzhang)
734-647-0452
wxzhang@umich.edu
Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry, School of Dentistry and Adjunct Lecturer in Surgery

Not finding the person you want to find? Go to the Directory.


DEPARTMENT CHAIR

Chalmers J Lyons Professor of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, Associate Professor of Dentistry and Chair, Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery/Hospital Dentistry, School of Dentistry and Associate Professor of Surgery, Medical School