The Department of Biologic and Materials Sciences & Prosthodontics (BMSP), has the mission of contributing to the basic science curriculum of the School of Dentistry as well as preparing students to be competent in the clinical specialty of prosthodontics. The department's research programs contribute new basic knowledge to the biology of the orofacial region with the goal of providing insight into the mechanisms of oral diseases. Faculty in the department generate and disseminate new knowledge and original concepts in oral biology through creative research and scholarship. The department's service component draws upon the unique expertise of the faculty to serve as advisors at the international, national, university, and the School of Dentistry levels.

BIOLOGIC AND MATERIALS SCIENCES

Biologic and Materials Sciences has an exciting and vigorous research program in several areas related to Oral Biology. Oral Biology is a multi-disciplinary science concerned with the structures and functions of tissues, fluids, and microbial flora in the oral cavity and adjoining areas. Our faculty members are engaged in innovative basic science research to understand the principles and molecular mechanisms that guide normal development, the pathogenesis of oral disease and the development of novel therapeutic approaches. Our areas of emphasis include: cancer biology, materials sciences, microbiology and immunology, neurobiology, and tissue engineering.

PROSTHODONTICS

Prosthodontics is the branch of dentistry concerned with the replacement and maintenance of oral function, comfort, appearance, and health of the patient by the restoration of natural teeth and/or the replacement of missing teeth. Its major components are complete denture, removable partial denture, fixed partial denture prosthodontics, and dental implants. Our faculty are fully committed to excellence in teaching and provide expert clinical care. Prosthodontic appointments can be made through the Dental Faculty Associates Clinic or the Graduate Prosthodontics Clinic.


Learn about the Awards and Scholarships offered by the Department of Biologic and Materials Sciences & Prosthodontics.


Academic Programs

PROSTHODONTIC GRADUATE PROGRAM (MS)

In the three-year Advanced Specialty Education Program in Prosthodontics, students will be trained in all phases of oral rehabilitative procedures including implant placement. Students are enrolled in a 36-month Master's degree program.

DENTAL POSTGRADUATE PROGRAM IN PROSTHODONTICS (NON-DEGREE)

The program offers oral health professionals exceptional academic exposure and experience to meet the changing needs of a diverse patient population, enhancing knowledge and skills in the area of prostodontics and implant dentistry.

PROSTHODONTIC CLINIC

Prosthodontic restorations, like crowns, bridges, partial or complete dentures and implant retained restorations are available featuring the most up-to-date techniques and equipment.

...

Bradley Lab

The long-term goal of the Bradley laboratory is to understand the sensory input and brainstem neural circuits involved in processing taste information.

...

Fenno Lab

The Fenno Lab's research focuses on the role of the oral spirochete T. denticola in the development of periodontal diseases.

...

Geng Lab

The Geng Lab's research focuses on cell adhesion and migration of leukocytes, platelets, endothelial cells and tumor cells.

...

Gerstner Lab

The Gerstner Lab's research presently has two foci: (1) Comparative masticatory studies. (2) Tooth wear, fecundity and longevity.

...

H.O.P.E. Lab (DaSilva)

The H.O.P.E. (Headache & Orofacial Pain Effort) Lab investigates the brain as a research and therapeutic target for chronic trigeminal pain disorders,

...

Kaartinen Lab

The Kaartinen Lab is interested in underlying molecular reasons that lead to a formation of common craniofacial and cardiac birth defects in human newborn babies.

...

Kohn Lab

The Kohn Lab focuses on how the organizational hierarchy of mineralized tissues results in mechanical competence and to mimic aspects of nature's biomineralization strategies.

...

Kuroda Lab

The Kuroda laboratory studies membrane-active antimicrobial polymers as synthetic mimics of host-defense peptides and antimicrobial coatings to prevent biofilm formation on biomedical materials.

...

Li Lab

Studies the function of neural populations that control breathing rhythms and behaviors (such as sighing), and the pathophysiology of diseases with breathing abnormality.

...

Liu Lab

Research in the Liu laboratory focuses on understanding cellular and molecular mechanisms that regulate physiological and pathological bone metabolism, skeletal and craniofacial bone development and diseases.

...

Lombaert Lab

The question that is driving the Lombaert Lab's research in the long-term focuses on how to apply stem cell-based therapies to repair damaged tissues.

ma lab image

Ma Lab

The Ma Lab develops novel materials to support various biomedical applications, with emphasis on regenerative medicine, tissue engineering, and drug delivery.

...

Mishina Lab

The Mishina laboratory is interested in functions of BMP signaling during bone development/remodeling and craniofacial development.

...

Mistretta Lab

The Mistretta Lab's research is to understand early development and differentiation of the taste system.

...

Simmer Hu Lab

The Simmer Hu laboratory studies tooth development, focusing on the human genetics of developmental anomalies of the dentition and using mouse models to understand how proteins encoded by genes function during normal tooth development and how their mutations lead to failures in such process.

BIOLOGIC AND MATERIALS SCIENCES & PROSTHODONTICS DIRECTORY

List of Dentistry People in this Department
Name Sort descending Contact Title
Abdullah, Saria
(sariaab)
734-763-5280
sariaab@umich.edu
Clinical Lecturer in Dentistry
Alrousan, Karam Qasem
(alrousan)
734-647-3069
alrousan@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Lecturer in Dentistry
Anderson, Tyler Scott
(andersts)

andersts@umich.edu
Bak, Sun-Yung
(sybak)
734-764-5527
sybak@umich.edu
Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Bazzi, John
(jabazzi)

jabazzi@umich.edu
Beard, Charles
(chbeard)
734-647-4136
chbeard@umich.edu
Senior Clinical Lecturer in Dentistry
Bhat, Rajani
(rajanib)
734-936-4643
rajanib@umich.edu
Research Fellow
Bogrow, Earl Keith
(ebogrow)
734-647-3722
ebogrow@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry, Department of Biologic and Material Science
Bolger, Morgan William
(mwbolger)
734-615-7995
mwbolger@umich.edu
Graduate Student Research Assistant
Boyd, Kerry
(boydkj)
734-936-5032
boydkj@umich.edu
Administrative Assistant Sr
Bradley, Robert
(rmbrad)
734-763-1080
rmbrad@umich.edu
Professor of Dentistry, Interim Chair, School of Dentistry and Professor of Molecular and Integrative Physiology
Bufford, Blake
(bbufford)
734-763-6397
bbufford@umich.edu
Graduate Student Staff Assistant
Carracho, Ana Catarina Guitana
(acarrach)

acarrach@umich.edu
Carson, Alexander
(carsonal)
734-765-1848
carsonal@umich.edu
Research Lab Tech Intermediate
Choi, Han Kyoung
(choihan)
734-763-8532
choihan@umich.edu
Research Fellow
Christe-Schultz, Lisa
(lisachri)
734-763-3326
lisachri@umich.edu
Dental Hygienist
Clendenin, Joel Thomas
(jclenden)
734-763-0518
jclenden@umich.edu
Business Administrator Inter
Coelho, Valentina
(vcoelho)

vcoelho@umich.edu
Cornett, Ashley
(arieck)
734-765-1848
arieck@umich.edu
Research Laboratory Tech Sr
Coto, Maria Fernanda Alfaro
(alfaromf)

alfaromf@umich.edu
Curmi, Jean
(jcurmi)
734-718-8726
jcurmi@umich.edu
Dental Assistant Intermediate
Dasilva, Alexandre
(adasilva)
734-763-5280
adasilva@umich.edu
Associate Professor of Dentistry, School of Dentistry and Research Associate Professor.
Davidson, Thomas Allan
(tadavids)
734-615-7995
tadavids@umich.edu
Graduate Student Research Assistant
Dill, Andrew Nelson
(andill)
734-763-0518
andill@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Doleyres, Yasmine Renee
(doleyres)
734-223-8940
doleyres@umich.edu
Graduate Student Research Assistant
Duff, Renee Elizabeth
(reduff)
734-763-3313
reduff@umich.edu
Assistant Dean, Student Services, Clinical Associate Professor of Dentistry, Department of Biologic and Materials Sciences and Prosthodontics, School of Dentistry
Ellauzi, Asil Mah'd Mohammad
(ellauzia)

ellauzia@umich.edu
Fazzio, Joseph
(fazziojo)

fazziojo@umich.edu
Fenno, Christopher
(fenno)
734-763-3331
fenno@umich.edu
Professor of Dentistry
Geng, Jian-Guo
(jgeng)
734-763-7073
jgeng@umich.edu
Associate Professor of Dentistry
George, Furat
(fgeorge)
734-936-8960
fgeorge@umich.edu
Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Gerstner, Geoffrey
(geger)
734-647-3069
geger@umich.edu
Associate Professor of Dentistry
Gheisarifar, Maryam
(gmaryam)
734-763-5280
gmaryam@umich.edu
Clinical Lecturer in Dentistry
Godovikova, Valentina
(valg)
734-647-3889
valg@umich.edu
Research Lab Specialist Inter
Goetting-Minesky, Paula
(mpgoett)
734-647-3889
mpgoett@umich.edu
Research Lab Specialist Assoc
Gordon, Brandon
(bradgord)
734-763-5280
bradgord@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Groom, Thomas Dawson
(groomt)
845-527-0631
groomt@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Hamerink, Howard
(hahdds)
O 734-615-1972 C 734-895-5366
hahdds@umich.edu
Associate Director, Community Based Dental Education
Adjuc. Clinical Assoc. Professor
Hammaker, Sabrina Samireth Garcia
(samireth)
734-763-3111
samireth@umich.edu
Clinical Assistant Professor
Hammaker, Daniel James
(dhammake)
734-763-5481
dhammake@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Lecturer in Dentistry
Hammoudeh, Hanin Sager Nimer
(hhanin)

hhanin@umich.edu
Herrero, Alberto Andres
(herrero)
734-615-5019
herrero@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Hill, Emily Frances
(efhill)
989-785-4855
efhill@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Lecturer in Dentistry
Hill, Elliott Earl
(eehill)

eehill@umich.edu
Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Hu, Xiaosu
(xiaosuhu)
734-615-9390
xiaosuhu@umich.edu
Assistant Research Scientist, Center for Human Growth and Development
Hu, Jan Ching Chun
(janhu)
734-763-6769
janhu@umich.edu
Samuel D Harris Collegiate Professor of Dentistry, Professor of Dentistry and Chair, Department of Biologic and Materials Sciences and Prosthodontics, School of Dentistry
Hu, Yuanyuan
(yyhu)
734-975-9326
yyhu@umich.edu
Research Laboratory Specialist Lead
Jassar, Hassan
(hjassar)
734-615-9390
hjassar@umich.edu
Research Fellow
Johnson, Gary William
(gwjonson)
734-763-5280
gwjonson@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Associate Professor of Dentistry
Jung, Younghun
(jungyh)
734-936-8747
jungyh@umich.edu
Assistant Research Scientist
Jung, Soong Ryong
(srjung)

srjung@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Associate Professor of Dentistry
Kaartinen, Vesa
(vesak)
734-615-1970
vesak@umich.edu
Associate Dean for Research and Director of the OHS/PhD program, Professor of Dentistry, Department of Biologic and Materials Sciences and Prosthodontics, School of Dentistry
Kane, Lisa Marie
(kanel)
734-763-5280
kanel@umich.edu
Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Kannan, Rahasudha
(rakannan)
734-647-4205
rakannan@umich.edu
Graduate Student Research Assistant
Keedy, Deborah
(dkeedy)
734-763-5481
dkeedy@umich.edu
Administrative Specialist
Kim, Dajung
(dajungk)
734-615-9390
dajungk@umich.edu
Research Fellow
Kim, Semin
(semink)
734-615-7995
semink@umich.edu
Research Fellow
Kohn, David
(dhkohn)
734-764-2206
dhkohn@umich.edu
Professor of Dentistry, School of Dentistry and Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Kolling, Josef
(jkolling)
734-764-5527
jkolling@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Associate Professor of Dentistry
Kumari, Archana
(archanak)
734-647-3908
archanak@umich.edu
Research Investigator
Kuroda, Kenichi
(kkuroda)
734-936-1440
kkuroda@umich.edu
Associate Professor of Dentistry, Associate Professor of Macromolecular Science and Engineering, College of Engineering and Associate Professor of Chemistry, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
Lewis, Charlotte
(charlew)
734-763-3326
charlew@umich.edu
Dental Assistant Intermediate
Li, Libo
(libol)
734-647-3908
libol@umich.edu
Research Lab Specialist Inter
Li, Peng
(penglium)
734-647-0232
penglium@umich.edu
Research Assistant Professor, Life Sciences Institute, Assistant Professor of Dentistry, School of Dentistry and Assistant Professor of Molecular and Integrative Physiology
Liang, Tian
(tianl)

tianl@umich.edu
Research Fellow
Lim, Manyoel
(manyoell)
734-615-9390
manyoell@umich.edu
Research Fellow
Liu, Fei
(feiliu)
734-936-0911
feiliu@umich.edu
Associate Professor of Dentistry
Lombaert, Isabelle Ma
(lombaert)
734-765-1848
lombaert@umich.edu
Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Ma, Li
(mlima)
734-763-7071
mlima@umich.edu
Research Lab Specialist Inter
Ma, Peter
(mapx)
734-764-2209
mapx@umich.edu
Richard H Kingery Endowed Collegiate Professor of Dentistry, Professor of Dentistry, Professor of Macromolecular Science and Engineering, Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, College of Engineering and Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Mackiewicz-Dailey, Regina
(daileyre)
734-647-3722
daileyre@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Mandair, Gurjit Singh
(gmandair)
734-647-4214
gmandair@umich.edu
Research Area Specialist Inter
Mann, Jeffrey
(jmmann)
734-647-6341
jmmann@umich.edu
Research Laboratory Tech Sr
Marsh, Sarah
(marshl)
734-763-3326
marshl@umich.edu
Patient Services Associate
Marshall, Thomas Scott
(tsmarshl)
734-936-1547
tsmarshl@umich.edu
Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Marunick, Mark
(marunick)
734-763-5280
marunick@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Professor of Dentistry
May, Kenneth Bural
(bural)
734-763-6541
bural@umich.edu
Associate Professor of Dentistry
McGoldrick, Samantha Jane
(smcgoldr)
734-615-7995
smcgoldr@umich.edu
Graduate Student Research Assistant
McIntosh, Lisa
(lisamcin)
734-647-1369
lisamcin@umich.edu
Dental Clinic Coordinator
Mededovic, Merjem
(mmededov)
734-615-7995
mmededov@umich.edu
Graduate Student Research Assistant
Mendonca, Gustavo
(mgustavo)
734-763-5280
mgustavo@umich.edu
Clinical Associate Professor of Dentistry
Mendonca, Daniela
(mendonca)
734-647-9825
mendonca@umich.edu
Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Meyer, Sharon
(shaab)
734-763-3326
shaab@umich.edu
Dental Assistant Intermediat. e
Miller, Newell David
(newmil)
734-763-5280
newmil@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Professor of Dentistry
Mishina, Yuji
(mishina)
734-763-5579
mishina@umich.edu
Professor of Dentistry
Mistretta, Charlotte
(chmist)
734-647-3911
chmist@umich.edu
William R Mann Professor of Dentistry, Professor of Dentistry
Montuelle, Stephane Jean
(montuell)
734-647-3069
montuell@umich.edu
Research Fellow
Morris, Harold
(mharold)
734-340-4120
mharold@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Myers, Alexandra
(alemyers)
734-763-3326
alemyers@umich.edu
Dental Assistant Intermediate
Nascimento, Thiago Dias
(nasci)
734-615-9390
nasci@umich.edu
Assistant Research Scientist
Oh, Won-Suck
(ohws)
734-615-2168
ohws@umich.edu
Clinical Professor of Dentistry
Oh, Young Joo Lee
(yolee)
734-763-5280
yolee@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Lecturer in Dentistry
Omi, Maiko
(maikoo)
734-764-8278
maikoo@umich.edu
Research Fellow
Onoriobe, Uvoh Erhiegueke
(onoriobe)

onoriobe@umich.edu
Dr
Pan, Haichun
(haichun)
734-764-8278
haichun@umich.edu
Research Laboratory Tech Sr
Patel, Bhavinkumar Balendrakumar
(drbhavin)

drbhavin@umich.edu
Peabody, Gadia Kumujun
(gpeabody)
734-763-5280
gpeabody@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Lecturer in Dentistry, Department of Community Based Dental Education and Adjunct Clinical Lecturer in Dentistry
Pierchala, Brian Anthony
(pierchal)
734-763-3394
pierchal@umich.edu
Ajunct Associate Professor of Dentistry
Pogoncheff, Carl Metodi
(cpogonch)
734-763-5280
cpogonch@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Press, Anne Katherine
(pressak)

pressak@umich.edu
Razzoog, Michael
(merim)
734-763-3453
merim@umich.edu
Professor of Dentistry
Rojas, Johanna Maria Garita
(jgarita)

jgarita@umich.edu
Saglik, Berna
(bernats)
734-763-5280
bernats@umich.edu
Clinical Associate Professor of Dentistry
Saleem, Dalya
(dsaleem)
734-615-9390
dsaleem@umich.edu
Clinical Subjects Coordinator
Schannault, Malines Brookes
(malines)
734-763-3326 or 734-764-3860
malines@umich.edu
Dental Assistant Intermediate
Semmens, Erin
(esemme)
734-763-5280
esemme@umich.edu
Administrative Assistant Sr
Sierraalta, Marianella
(msierraa)
734-763-5280
msierraa@umich.edu
Clinical Professor of Dentistry
Simmer, James Patrick
(jsimmer)
734-764-4676
jsimmer@umich.edu
Professor of Dentistry
Siripurapu, Krishnapriya
(krisir)

krisir@umich.edu
Smith, Charles Edward
(cessmith)
734-763-5481
cessmith@umich.edu
Adjunct Research Scientist
Snyder, Mark
(mdsnyder)
734-647-4328
mdsnyder@umich.edu
Clinical Assistant Professor
Stewart, Karen-Lee Jones
(kljones)
734-763-5280
kljones@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Associate Professor of Dentistry
Tarrazzi, Daler Elisa
(dtarrazz)
734-763-3364
dtarrazz@umich.edu
Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Tewksbury, Claire Danielle
(ctewks)
734-745-8888
ctewks@umich.edu
RESEARCH INTERN
Vallie, Abigail
(vallie)
734-765-1848
vallie@umich.edu
Research Laboratory Tech Assoc
Wang, Connie
(wconnie)

wconnie@umich.edu
Weerappuli, Priyan Dimuthu
(pweerapp)
734-765-1848
pweerapp@umich.edu
Research Fellow
Wei, Chenxuan
(ivycxwei)

ivycxwei@umich.edu
Wilkinson, Katherine Steel
(kswilk)
734-764-5981
kswilk@umich.edu
Graduate Student Instructor, Statistics, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
Xiu, Kemao
(kemaoxiu)
734-647-4205
kemaoxiu@umich.edu
Research Fellow
Yang, Jingwen
(jingweny)
734-764-8278
jingweny@umich.edu
Research Fellow, Academic Departments
Yoshida, Mutsumi
(yoshidam)
734-764-4622
yoshidam@umich.edu
Managing Director
Zhang, Honghao
(zhangho)
734-764-8278
zhangho@umich.edu
Assistant Research Scientist
Zhang, Chuhua
(chuhuaz)
734-975-9326
chuhuaz@umich.edu
Research Lab Tech Lead/Sr
Zhang, Hong
(zhanghon)
734-975-9318
zhanghon@umich.edu
Research Fellow
Zhou, Tongqing
(tqzhou)
734-882-8847
tqzhou@umich.edu
Graduate Student Research Assistant

Not finding the person you want to find? Go to the Directory.


DEPARTMENT CHAIR

Samuel D Harris Collegiate Professor of Dentistry, Professor of Dentistry and Chair, Department of Biologic and Materials Sciences and Prosthodontics, School of Dentistry


CONTACT

ACADEMIC OFFICE

Department of Biologic and Materials Sciences & Prosthodontics
University of Michigan School of Dentistry
1011 N University Avenue, Room K1030
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1078
Phone: 734-763-5280 or 734-936-5032 | Fax: 734-763-3453

GRADUATE PROSTHODONTIC CLINIC

Department of Biologic and Materials Sciences & Prosthodontics
University of Michigan School of Dentistry
1011 N University Avenue, Room 1378
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1078
Phone: 734-763-3326