Skip to content Skip to navigation

Dental Students Receive Scholarships

Awards from Michigan Dental Association Foundation

Ann Arbor, MI — July 21, 2015 — Five dental students from University of Michigan School of Dentistry have been awarded scholarships by the Michigan Dental Association Foundation to help them defray some of their education expenses.  The U-M dental students, all in the fourth year of their studies, are:

Allison Everett, from Grosse Pointe, Michigan, received a $1,800 Robert Mitus Scholarship.  She hopes to be in a General Practice Residency program after receiving her dental degree.  She plans to share her experiences as a dental student and mentor dental students and others in the health care community.

Kaitrin Kramer, a fourth-year dental student from Novi, Michigan, received a $1,800 Robert Mitus Scholarship.  After earning her dental degree, Kramer will begin a year of post doctoral research. 

Eric Tye, from Macomb Township, Michigan, received a $1,800 Robert Mitus Scholarship.  Tye plans to become an associate in a private practice in Macomb Township after graduation and active in educating the public about the importance of oral health care.

My Yang, from Waterford, Michigan, received a $1,800 Robert Mitus Scholarship. Yang is applying for admission to an AEGD and/or GPR program.  He hopes to work with policy makers on dental health policies, tuition affordability and Medicaid reimbursement.  Eventually, “I would love to work for a community health center,” he said.

Spencer Crouch, from Traverse City, Michigan, received a $1,000 John G. Nolen Scholarship.  After graduation, Crouch hopes to enroll in an orthodontics residency program.  He hopes to use his knowledge and skills mentoring other dental students.

Funds for the Mitus Scholarship are made available from the family of Dr. Robert Mitus (DDS 1978), an honorary MDA past president who was a leader in efforts to establish the Michigan Dental Association Foundation in the late 1990s.  A former president of the West Michigan District Dental Society, he also served on the MDA’s Board of Trustees before he died in 1999.

The Nolen Scholarship is named for the late Dr. John G. Nolen (DDS 1944) who was the MDA’s executive director for 21 years before he died in 2000.

Scholarship recipients must be U.S. citizens, Michigan residents, and attend Michigan universities.