Skip to content Skip to navigation

U-M Recognized at ADEA's Annual Meeting

Dr. Peter Polverini, dean of the University of Michigan School of Dentistry from 2003-2013, was among several individuals who were honored by the American Dental Education Association (ADEA) during its annual session and exhibition in Boston.

Polverini received the William J. Gies Award for Outstanding Vision by a Dental Educator.  In a nomination letter, Dean Laurie McCauley described Polverini as “a remarkable mentor, scholar, motivator and administrator.  He distinguished himself as a leader among the best.  He imagined a future for dental education, built a new foundation, acquired new faculty talents, inspired the players and implemented a new model.”

A special video recognizing Polverini’s achievements was presented.  Scroll down to “Award for Outstanding Vision, Dental Educator” and click.  That 2-minute, 17-second video is the first.


Emerging Academic Leaders

Dr. Todd Ester, director of Diversity and Inclusion, received the ADEA/AAL Faculty of Color Tuition Scholarship for Professional Development, ADEA Summer Program for Emerging Academic Leaders.

The scholarship was created to enable junior faculty (up to three years experience) of color to participate in programs designed to improve their teaching abilities, increase their leadership skills and advance their understanding of other elements of a successful academic career.

Ester, director of Multicultural Affairs from 1999 to 2006, returned to the School of Dentistry last summer as director of Diversity and Inclusion.  He earned his DDS from U-M in 1994 and received a certificate in endodontics from U-M in 1999.


Scholarship to Purse Academic Career

Kaitrin Kramer (D3), received the ADEA/Crest Oral-B Laboratory Scholarship for Predoctoral Dental Students Pursuing Academic Careers.  The scholarship is awarded to dental students who want to become dental educators.

Kramer’s interest in patient care and research began in 2007 when she participated in a summer research externship at the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia.  “The example set by my mentor and his encouragement motivated me to pursue training as a clinician scientist,” she says.

Her interest in an academic career began as an undergraduate at the University of Illinois at Champaign-Urbana.  After earning a bachelor’s degree in molecular and cellular biology, Kramer was accepted into the DDS/PhD program at the University of Illinois-Chicago.  In the fall of 2012, she transferred to U-M when her husband began his radiology residency at Beaumont Hospital in Royal Oak.  Kramer successfully defended her thesis and graduated with a PhD from U-I-Chicago last December.

Kramer wants to combine a clinical specialty with continued post-doctoral research training.  “I am incredibly fortunate to attend a school with many role models and leaders in their fields,” she says.  “Whether I am in a classroom or clinic, I find inspiration for my career choice in daily interactions with faculty, staff and classmates here at Michigan.”


Leadership Institute

Prof. Janet Kinney, director of the dental hygiene program, received the 2015 ADEA/Colgate Palmolive Allied Dental Educators Fellowship.  The award recognizes dental educators who demonstrate excellence in dental education with creativity in curriculum design or innovation in the delivery of education to students.

Kinney’s fellowship will fund her participation in ADEA’s Leadership Institute, a 12-month program designed to develop the most promising individuals at academic dental schools to become future leaders in dentistry and higher education.  The program begins in March.

Dr. Bill Piskorowski, assistant dean for Community-Based Dental Education and clinical associate professor of dentistry, will also participate in the Leadership Institute. 

Eleven individuals from the School of Dentistry have been selected to participate in the Leadership Institute in recent years.  They are:  Prof. Wendy Kerschbaum (2001), Dr. Paul Krebsbach (2002), Dr. George Taylor (2004), Dr. Mary Rafter (2005), Dr. Nisha D’Silva (2006), Dr. Renée E. Duff (2008), Dr. Robert Eber (2010), Dr. Domenica Sweier (2011), Dr. Russell Taichman (2011), Prof. Anne Gwozdek and Dr. Berna Saglik (2013).

Posted March 10, 2015