Skip to content Skip to navigation

Dental Hygiene Honors Alumna, 24 Students

Charlotte Wyche (second from right) holds the Outstanding Dental Hygiene Alumna Award she received. With her are (left to right) Michelle Velez president of the U-M Dental Hygiene Alumni Association; Mary Layher and Anne Gwozdek who nominated Wyche.

(Photo by Janet Kinney)

Honor Society Inductees (top, left to right): Stefanie Marx, Audrey Taylor, Emily Springfield and (bottom row) Maegan Allen (left) and Lauren Strong. 

(Photo by Anne Gwozdek)

Pauline Steele Student Leadership Award recipient Samantha Metcalf (center) with Janet Kinney, director of the dental hygiene program, and Michelle Velez, president of the U-M Dental Hygiene Alumni Association.

(Photo by Anne Gwozdek)

Cassy Mioduszewski (left) recipient of the Washtenaw District Dental Hygienists’ Society Professional Involvement Award and Allison Restauri, U-M faculty advisor to the student chapter of the American Dental Hygienists’ Association.

(Photo by Janet Kinney)

Maegan Allen with Colgate Oral Pharmaceuticals Student Total Achievement Recognition (STAR) Award.

(Photo by Janet Kinney)

Sally Ammar, recipient of the Wendy Kerschbaum Award with Kerschbaum who directed the dental hygiene program for 24 years.

(Photo by Janet Kinney)

Ann Arbor, MI — May 2, 2014 — Leaders of the University of Michigan School of Dentistry’s dental hygiene program recognized the achievements of 24 students and paid tribute to a distinguished alumna during its annual awards banquet last month.


Charlotte Wyche, Outstanding Alumna

Charlotte Wyche (Dental Hygiene Certificate 1979; BSDH 1989; MS, Dental Hygiene Education 1992) received the Outstanding Dental Hygiene Alumna Award for her career in academia and public health as well as her service to the profession.

For 15 years, Wyche has co-authored several chapters in one of dental hygiene’s most highly acclaimed and widely used textbooks, Clinical Practice of the Dental Hygienist, edited by Esther Wilkins.  In addition to partnering with Wilkins, Wyche also created a workbook that accompanies the textbook.  The textbook is used in more than 250 dental hygiene programs in the U.S. and other countries.  The 11th edition of the textbook was published in 2012. 

Wyche taught clinical radiology to dental and dental hygiene students at the School of Dentistry (1992-1994) and at the University of Detroit Mercy (1994-2007).  She served on the Michigan State Board of Dentistry from 2008 to 2012 and has been an examiner for the Northeast Regional Board since 2008.  She returned to teach at U-M that same year as an adjunct clinical lecturer in the Master of Science in Dental Hygiene Program and also works part time as an evaluation coordinator for the Michigan Department of Community Health Oral Health Programs.


Honor Society

Five dental hygiene students who are graduating in the top 10 percent of their class were inducted into the Sigma Phi Alpha (Nu Chapter) of the National Dental Hygiene Honor Society:

·      Maegan Allen, Lauren Strong and Tracie Yu (On-Campus, Bachelor’s Degree Program)

·      Audrey Taylor (Degree Completion Program)

·      Stefanie Marx (Master of Science in Dental Hygiene)

Emily Springfield, an academic project manager at the School of Dentistry, was inducted as an honorary member.


Student Awards

Eighteen students — nine in the on-campus Bachelor of Science Degree Program and nine in the Degree Completion (Online) E-Learning Program — received Ginsberg Center Service Cords from the University of Michigan for their community service.  The students who will wear red cords during the School’s graduation ceremonies on May 9 are:

·      Monty Alameedi, Luke Shaw, Toni DePetro, Renee Berger, Jillian Askew, Erika Gentner, Anushey Pervez, Rida Khan and Meredith Klett (On Campus, Bachelor’s Degree Program).

·      Tiffany Conroy, Elisa Dack, Amber Fredericks, Laura Hettinger, Jamie Jo Polakowski, Jessica Ranella, Audrey Taylor, Angela Walewski and Katrina Walker (Degree Completion Program).


Other members of the Dental Hygiene Class of 2014 who received awards were:

·      Samantha Metcalf, Pauline Steele Student Leadership Award.  Named for the second director of the School’s dental hygiene program and a nationally renowned leader in dental hygiene, this award recognizes a graduating dental hygiene student who has demonstrated outstanding leadership.

·      Cassy Mioduszewski, Washtenaw District Dental Hygienists’ Society Professional Involvement Award.  This award is presented to the student who demonstrates a commitment to professional development by being involved in professional activities and/or community service.

·      Maegan Allen, the Colgate Oral Pharmaceuticals Student Total Achievement Recognition (STAR) Award for demonstrating enthusiasm for community service and compassion in patient care.

·      Erika Gentner, the Hu-Friedy Golden Scaler Award.  This award is presented to the student who exemplifies the role of a dental hygienist in all aspects of clinical care.

·      Tracie Yu, the Johnson & Johnson Professional Excellence Award for outstanding clinical expertise in dental hygiene, health promotion and disease prevention education.

·      Katrina Walker, the American Association of Public Health Dentistry Dental Hygiene Student Merit Award for Outstanding Achievement in Community Dentistry.


Sally Ammar (DH3) received the Wendy Kerschbaum Emerging Leader Award.  The award honors the legacy of Prof. Wendy Kerschbaum who directed the School of Dentistry’s dental hygiene program from 1988 to 2012.  The award is presented annually to a second- or third-year dental hygiene student who exhibits a strong commitment to the dental hygiene profession and demonstrates leadership as a member of the U-M chapter of the Student American Dental Hygienists’ Association.