Skip to content Skip to navigation

13 Inducted into OKU

Caption:  Omicron Kappa Upsilon inductees (Front row, left to right): Samantha Garber, Cassandra Schwab, Elena Petrova, Rebecca Mooar, Jonathan Dzingle, Dipa Patel, Lauren Ehardt, Kevin Kuo. (Back row, left to right): Brent Kendziorski, Mikhail Garibov, Laura Lungu.  Not present: Kyle Eurick, Whitney Yahn.

Photo by Kritsa Paulin

Ann Arbor, MI — April 7, 2014 — A group of 13 fourth-year dental students from University of Michigan School of Dentistry was recently inducted into the national dental honor society, Omicron Kappa Upsilon, as the organization celebrated the 100 year anniversary of its founding.

Established in 1914, OKU promotes and recognizes scholarship and character among students of dentistry.  Each year, the School’s Chi Chapter selects a limited number of final-year dental students for initiation into the organization.  In addition to their scholastic achievements, the students have also demonstrated exemplary traits of character and the potential for future professional growth.

This year’s inductees were:  Jonathan Dzingle, Lauren Ehardt, Kyle Eurick, Samantha Garber, Mikhail Garibov, Brent Kendziorski, Kevin Kuo, Laura Lungu, Rebecca Mooar, Dipa Patel, Elena Petrova, Cassandra Schwab and Whitney Yahn.

Allison Everett received the OKU Scholarship Award, Douglas Orzel received the Kramer Award, and Emily Springfield, instructional designer, received a certificate of recognition.

Dr. Sean Edwards, clinical associate professor in the Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery and Hospital Dentistry, was inducted as a new faculty member.  Dr. Vesa Kaartinen, associate professor of dentistry in the Department of Biologic and Materials Sciences, was awarded honorary membership.