Skip to content Skip to navigation

Dental Hygiene alumna, students honored

Janet Kinney (right) receives the Dental Hygiene Outstanding Alumnae Award from the alumni association president Michelle Velez.

Sigma Phi Alpha inductees are (back row, from left) Peter Liang, Michelle Arnett, Stephanie Zigouras, Hope Woolley; and (front, from left) Mary Grace Ash and Shannon O’Dell.

Becky Domagalski (third from left) holds the 2016 SPIRIT Award, which honors the late Katherine Yee. Participating in the presentation are (from left) Wendy Kerschbaum, former Dental Hygiene director; Ray Yee, Kathy Yee’s husband; Karen Pittman, Kathy Yee’s sister; Jane Halaris, adjunct clinical lecturer; and Anne Gwozdek, clinical assistant professor.

Jessica Duell (left) and Emily Pederson (right) receive the Washtenaw District Dental Hygienists’ Society Professional and Community Involvement Award from alumni association president Michelle Velez.

Annual awards presented during 2016 commencement activities

Ann Arbor, Mich., June 8, 2016 -- The Dental Hygiene program at the University of Michigan School of Dentistry honored a distinguished alumna and recognized the achievements of graduating students as part of 2016 spring commencement activities.

Janet Kinney (BSDH 1983; MS in Dental Hygiene 2007; MS in Clinical Research & Statistical Analysis 2007) received the Outstanding Dental Hygiene Alumnae Award for her career in academia, clinical research and service to the profession.  In 2012, Kinney became the School of Dentistry’s Director of Dental Hygiene, the fourth person to hold the position since the program opened in 1921.  She joined the Division of Dental Hygiene as a faculty member in 2007 and prior to that had a career in clinical practice in the United States and Switzerland.

Kinney was cited for her “outstanding leadership and tireless service” to the program and profession during a presentation by the U-M Dental Hygiene Alumni Association.  Presenters Danielle Furgeson, clinical assistant professor, and Dina Korte, clinical lecturer, said Kinney advocates for students, strengthens the curriculum and mentors graduate students and junior faculty.  They noted Kinney was selected for a year-long fellowship with the American Dental Education Association’s Leadership Institute.  “She leads with integrity and is open to change,” they said during their presentation. “She thinks before she acts.  She is motivated and has a passion for dental hygiene, continuously striving to achieve new program goals and initiatives.  She is an empathetic leader that inspires and motivates those around her.  She unfailingly finds common ground with others and builds relationships that consequently lead to a connected and strong faculty team.”

Also during graduation activities, four dental hygiene students who graduated in the top 10 percent of their class were inducted into the Sigma Phi Alpha-Nu Chapter of the National Dental Hygiene Honor Society:  Peter Liang and Hope Woolley, entry-level dental hygiene program; Stephanie Zigouras, degree completion program; and Michelle Arnett, master of science in dental hygiene.  Mary Grace Ash, adjunct clinical lecturer, was the faculty inductee, and Shannon O’Dell, director-curator of the School of Dentistry’s Sindecuse Museum, was inducted as an honorary member in recognition for her support of dental hygiene and development of the exhibit, “Dental Hygiene: A Century of Progress.”

Fourteen students received Ginsberg Center Service Cords from the University of Michigan for their community service. The students who wore the cords during the school’s commencement ceremonies on May 6 are Hunter Beaubien, Samantha Bordener, Delana Cook, Jessica Duell, Peter Liang, Wafaa Nabilsi, Avina Patel, Emily Pedersen, Deena Nasr, Alexandria Schulz, Hope Woolley, Allie Xaysavat, Kristen Yaw and Stephanie Zigouras.

Other members of the Dental Hygiene Class of 2016 who received awards are:
   • Emily Pederson, the Pauline Steele Student Leadership Award. Named for the second director of the school’s dental hygiene program and a nationally renowned leader, this award recognizes a graduating student who has demonstrated outstanding leadership.
   • Jessica Duell and Emily Pederson, the Washtenaw District Dental Hygienists’ Society Professional and Community Involvement Award presented to students who demonstrate a commitment to professional development by being involved in professional activities and-or community service.
   • Hope Woolley, the Hu-Friedy Golden Scaler Award presented to the student who exemplifies the role of a dental hygienist in all aspects of clinical care.
   • Emily Pederson, the Johnson & Johnson Professional Excellence Award for outstanding clinical expertise in dental hygiene, health promotion and disease prevention.
   • Peter Liang, the Colgate Oral Pharmaceuticals Student Total Achievement (STAR) Award for demonstrating enthusiasm for community service and compassion in patient care.
   • Jessica Duell, the American Association of Public Health Dentistry Senior Dental Hygiene Award for special interest and achievement in community dentistry and dental public health.
   • Beth (Becky) Domagalski, the Katherine Yee SPIRIT Award, which honors the memory of Kathy Yee, a dental hygiene faculty member from 2011-16.  It is given to a second-year degree completion student who demonstrates a commitment to enriching the lives of others and advancing the profession of dental hygiene. 
   • Amy Ravenga (DH3), the Wendy Kerschbaum Emerging Leader Award, which honors the legacy of Professor Wendy Kerschbaum, who directed the School of Dentistry’s dental hygiene program from 1988-2012.  This award is presented annually to a second- or third-year dental hygiene student who exhibits a strong commitment to the dental hygiene profession and demonstrates leadership as a member of the U-M student chapter of the American Dental Hygienists’ Association.