Skip to content Skip to navigation

2 Faculty Accepted into Leadership, Scholars Programs

Dental Student Receives ADEA Scholarship

Ann Arbor, MI — March 9, 2016 — Two University of Michigan School of Dentistry faculty members have been selected to participate in a leadership program and a scholars program and a dental student has received a scholarship from the American Dental Education Association.

Dr. Hera Kim-Berman, director of the Graduate Orthodontics Program, will participate in the American Dental Education Association’s Leadership Institute. 

The year-long program is designed to develop the nation’s most promising individuals at academic dental institutions to become future leaders in dental and higher education.  During the program, participants investigate a project that addresses a key issue in dental education.  Since the program began in 1999, more than 300 faculty and administrators from predoctoral, allied and advanced dental education have participated.

Kim-Berman is a clinical assistant professor in the Department of Orthodontics and Pediatric Dentistry who teaches orthodontic and pediatric graduate residents and a postdoctoral craniofacial fellow.  Her clinical and research interests are in treating cleft lip and palate patients and those with craniofacial anomalies.

Dr. Nikki Sweier has been accepted into the U-M Medical School’s Rudi Ansbacher Women in Academic Leadership Scholars Program.

The 18-month leadership development program is designed to accelerate the development of women for senior ranking positions in academic medicine and health care.  The program focuses on executive leadership coaching, development planning, participation on committees and preparation for future challenges and advancement.

Sweier is a clinical associate professor in the Department of Cariology, Restorative Sciences and Endodontics.  Last year, she taught the inaugural interprofessional educational course, Team-Based Clinical Decision Making.

Luke Aiura, a third-year dental student recently received a scholarship from ADEA for demonstrated excellence in academic dentistry.  The ADEA/GlaxoSmithKline Consumer Healthcare Preventive Dentistry Scholarship is for $2,500 which is applied to tuition and fees for a predoctoral dental student.  ADEA presents the scholarship to 12 dental students annually.