Skip to content Skip to navigation

Dr. Jeffrey Rodney Certified by Prosthodontics Board

Ann Arbor, MI — September 24, 2015 — Dr. Jeffrey Rodney, a clinical assistant professor of maxillofacial prosthodontics in the Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery/Hospital Dentistry and a part-time teacher in the graduate prosthodontics clinic at the University of Michigan School of Dentistry, recently received board certification from the American Board of Prosthodontics (ABP).  The certification is the highest credential a prosthodontist can receive.

“The board certification process, which took about two years to complete due to the rigorous multiple exam format, was the most rigorous task I have ever been involved with during the past 25 years of my career,” he said.  “Nothing good comes easy.  But, in hindsight, the effort was worth it.  I am very proud of this honor of becoming a diplomate in my specialty.”  To achieve board certification Rodney had to complete written, oral and case presentation exams. 

Rodney earned a Bachelor of Science degree in cellular and molecular biology from the University of Michigan in 1985.  He earned his DMD from the University of Pennsylvania in 1989 and completed specialty training in prosthodontics at Rutgers in 1991.

After 22 years in private practice as a prosthodontist, Rodney completed a maxillofacial prosthetics fellowship at UCLA in 2014 and came to U-M that August.  He has been practicing maxillofacial prosthodontics at U-M Hospital and teaching part time in the graduate prosthodontics clinic.  “I feel the preparation work I did to become board certified has made me a better prosthodontics teacher,” he said.

Rodney says he is glad to be back in Ann Arbor, where he resides with his wife, Michelle.  Their two daughters, Samantha and Alexandra, graduated in 2013 and 2015, respectively, from the Ross School of Business.

The U-M School of Dentistry now has eight ABP board certified prosthodontics faculty members.  They are: Drs. Lisa Kane, Carl Pogoncheff, Marianella Sierraalta, Won Oh, Fei Liu, Michael Razzoog, Mark Marunick and Rodney.