Skip to content Skip to navigation

Creating a Community of Unity

The 34th Annual King's Feast Honors Distinguished Alumni

The U-M School of Dentistry Student National Dental Association (SNDA) hosted their 34th annual King's Feast on Saturday, January 31, 2015, in celebration of the life and legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. The event was held at the Michigan League and over 90 guests enjoyed an evening filled with laughter, fellowship and history as 30 alumni reminisced about the time they spent at the School of Dentistry.

The theme for this year's event was "Building a Community of Unity." The key-note address was given by Dr. Shelia Brown (DDS​ 1985) former president and current board of trustee member of the National Dental Association. Dr. Brown encouraged the dental students in attendance to "take full advantage of the opportunities available on the U-M campus, stay connected to our alumni and to stay involved in organized dentistry." 

During the event special recognition was given to Dr. Lee Jones (DDS 1961) and Dr. Ray Gist (DDS 1966). Dr. Jones served as Director of Minority Affairs at the School of Dentistry for over 25 years. Dr. Jones was the 2014 Distinguished Alumni Service Award recipient and a joyous participant at the King's Feast. Dr. Ray Gist was also recognized by the SNDA for being a leader in organized dentistry throughout his dental career serving as the first African-American president of the American Dental Association and Michigan Dental Association. Dr. Gist was the 2010 recipient of the school’s Distinguished Alumni Service Award. "It was a momentous occasion to have so many legends in our profession gathered in one place," stated Dr. Todd Ester, Director of Diversity and Inclusion and the faculty advisor to the SNDA.

Please visit the School of Dentistry Flickr site to see King's Feast photos.

Special thanks to the SNDA for helping to make this such a special event.

Andrea Branch (D3)
Blake Bufford (D1)
Janelle Cooper (D4)
Karra Evans (D4)
Jennifer Hunter (D4)
Saliah Miles (D4)
Angelique Teasley (D2)

Dr. Ester - Faculty Advisor
Philip Lewis - Staff
Valerie Murphree - Staff