Skip to content Skip to navigation

Peter Ma Receives Distinguished Scientist Award


Dr. Peter Ma

Ann Arbor, MI — March 20, 2013 — Dr. Peter Ma, a professor of dentistry in the Department of Biologic and Materials Sciences at the University of Michigan School of Dentistry, has received the Distinguished Scientist-Isaac Schour Memorial Award for his outstanding scientific contributions in tissue engineering, regeneration, and stem cell research. 

Presented during the annual meeting of International Association for Dental Research in Seattle, the award recognizes scientists whose research has led to significant advances in oral health.

“As a biomedical engineer, I am humbled to receive this high honor given by the International Association for Dental Research because it recognizes the significant research that has been conducted in our laboratory,” Ma said.

Ma began his career at the University of Michigan in 1996.  He is a tenured full professor with quadruple appointments in the Department of Biologic and Materials Sciences in the School of Dentistry; in the Department of Biomedical Engineering; Macromolecular Science and Engineering Center; and the Department of Materials Science and Engineering in the College of Engineering. 

Ma has published 205 articles in scientific journals, conference proceedings and book chapters, and edited a book, Scaffolding in Tissue Engineering (CRC Press).  He has also published 186 abstracts/presentations at professional conferences, been an invited or keynote speaker 190 times at conferences worldwide, is a reviewer for 70 scientific journals, is a member of four journal editorial and advisory boards, a grant reviewer for government agencies and private organizations worldwide. 

He is a Fellow of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE) and a Fellow of the International Union of Societies of Biomaterials Science and Engineering.  Ma also received the DuPont Young Professor Award in 2000, the first time the award was presented to a dental school faculty member since it was established in 1968.