Skip to content Skip to navigation

Ida Gray Award Recipients

Ida Gray Award - 2015

Ann Arbor, MI — January 29, 2015 — The School of Dentistry celebrated Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day with the presentation of Ida Gray Awards to a third-year dental student, a faculty member and an alumnus. The award is presented in January to individuals who promote diversity at the School.

Dr. Ida Gray (DDS 1890) was the first black woman to graduate from the School of Dentistry, the first black woman in the country to earn a dental degree, and the first black woman to practice dentistry in Chicago. Recipients were:

Dr. Margherita Fontana an associate professor in the Department of Cariology, Restorative Sciences and Endodontics, received an award for her research focusing on reducing oral health disparities among socioeconomically disadvantaged children.

My Yang a third-year dental student, was recognized for being an advocate for groups regardless of their gender, race, sexual orientation, economic, academic or language differences.

Dr. David White (DDS 2003) was honored for being a faculty sponsor and advisor to the predental club at the University of Nevada-Reno and treating a diverse group of uninsured and Medicaid patients. White estimates he has provided more than $50,000 annually of free dental services to at-risk groups in the Reno area.

Past Awards

2014 - Scott Ward, John Squires, Isabel C. Castillo

2013 - Jauana Gissendanner, Elizabeth Easter, Wolverine Patriot Project

2012 - Ricardo Lugo, dr. Henry Temple, Dr. James Lee

2011 - Christinel Dima, Evelyn Lucas-Perry, Dr. Sharon Brooks

2010 - Synthinia Pryor, Javier Johnson, Dr. Preetha Kanjirath

2009 - Dr. Ali Nikoo, Nejay Ananaba, Dean Peter Polverini

2008 - Elizabeth Rodriguez, Joan Anderson, Dr. William Gregory

2007 - Patricia Anderson, Brent Frey, Dr. Marilyn Woolfolk

2006 - Tamanika Terry Stewart, Paul Lopez, Dr. George Taylor

2005 - Diane Nixon, Justin smith, Dr. Todd Ester

2004 - Patricia Katcher, Erika J. Tyler, Dr. GrahamR. Holland

2003 - Cara Voss, Paulta Lloyd, Dean William Kotowicz

2001 - Cheryl Quiney, Damon Watson

2000 - Dr. Emerson Robinson

1999 - Dr. Lisa Tedesco

1998 - Dr. Marita Inglehart

1997 - Dr. Lee Jones