Skip to content Skip to navigation

Dental Hygiene

Honors & Awards

Emily Springfield photo 2013

Emily Springfield, BA, MSEd, recipient of the 2012 Olav Alvares Award

The Olav Alvares Award for Best Article Published in the Journal of Dental Education by a Junior Scholar was established to encourage junior scholars to conduct and publish outstanding research in dental education.  The article, Using Multiple Methods to Assess Learning and Outcomes in an Online Degree-Granting Dental Hygiene Program, with co-authors Anne Gwozdek, Melissa Peet and Wendy Kerschbaum, focused on the programmatic evaluation and outcomes assessment of the Dental Hygiene E-Learning Program.  The Alvares Awards will be presented in March 2013 during the ADEA Annual Session in Seattle, Washington.

AG photo

Anne Gwozdek, RDH, MA, named 2013 Philips Sonicare/RDH Mentor of the Year

Anne Gwozdek was selected out of a pool of mentors in dental hygiene by a panel of judges coordinated by Philips Oral Healthcare and RDH magazine. The two companies have collaborated on honoring mentoring in the dental hygiene profession every year since 2004.

“Philips is very proud to announce the 2013 winner, Anne Gwozdek. Anne is a clinician, educator, researcher, published author and leader. Let’s celebrate excellence in dental hygiene by recognizing the accomplishments of this exceptional individual — congratulations Anne!” said Gail Stoops, RDH, the senior manager of professional relations at Philips Oral Healthcare.

Gwozdek will be featured in the April 2013 issue of RDH magazine, and will be toasted for her mentoring achievements during an award ceremony at the American Dental Hygienists’ Association’s annual session in Boston.

Dr. Kerschbaum luncheon

Dental Hygiene Students Say Farwell to Wendy Kerschbaum

Professor Kerschbaum recognized for her many contributions as long time director of the Dental Hygiene program at a special luncheon.


Amy Parks Recipient of the 2010 University of Michigan Outstanding Student Leader Award

The Leadership Awards recognize the true spirit of leadership at the University of Michigan that values integrity, initiative, stewardship reciprocity and respect. Amy was honored at the Student Awards ceremony held in the Michigan Union Ballroom on April 1, 2010.
See article

Sigma Phi Alpha Inducts Four

The local chapter of Sigma Phi Alpha, the national dental hygiene honorary society, inducted four new members, dental hygiene students Courtnay Green, Kelly Wagner and Kristen Hubbs. Sue Garbarini (DH 1953) was inducted as an honorary member and recognized for her contributions to the advancement of the dental hygiene profession.